Board of Management

The Board of Management is responsible for setting strategies and policies, managing our finances and risks and monitoring the performance and quality of our services.

It is made up of between seven and 15 members, with three places reserved for Horizon tenants.

The Board is supported by an Audit sub-committee which meets at least three times per year.

Our Board members have a diverse range of skills and experience and are elected each year at the Annual General Meeting. To become a Board Member you must be a member of Horizon.

Frances Wood (Chair)

Frances' early career was as a housing professional, holding senior roles in housing associations and local government. Later she joined the Scottish Government where she led policy and programmes in community care, health improvement, community safety, housing and regeneration, social inclusion and welfare reform. She retired from her role of Deputy Director, Employability and Tackling Poverty in 2012. 

Frances now spends her time on voluntary and paid work in sport and fitness, and on wider public service. She is a Board member of sportscotland, the national agency for sport, and the Welfare Officer and an athletics coach for her local athletics club. She has been a member of Horizon Housing Association since 1993 and has served on its Board on two occasions, most recently from 2012. 

Bob Hartness (Vice Chair)

Bob is Convener of the Audit sub-committee and is Finance Director of North Glasgow Housing Association. 

Bob is a qualified Chartered Accountant and was previously Director of Social Housing at Baker Tilly working with 60 Scottish Registered Social Landlords.  He was also accounting and taxation adviser to the Scottish Federation of Housing Associations for a number of years and audited and advised a portfolio of clients in the charitable and private sectors.

Jill Pritchard

Jill joined the Board in 2010 and is a Business Change Manager at Fife Council. 

Jill previously worked as an Occupational Therapist (OT) as well as managing OT teams.  She also has wide experience of adaptations and supporting people in independent living. 

She is a former Management Committee member of Kingdom Housing Association and is a strong supporter of the Association’s ethos in terms of inclusive design to ensure that everyone has access to the housing they need to enable them to live full, independent lives.

Stan Rae

Stan has been a Horizon tenant since 2002 and was Recording Officer at Rosyth Dockyard for a number of years.  He was involved in providing suitable accommodation for service personnel injured in Afghanistan.

Stan has experience of new build capital works and housing maintenance contracts.  He is also interested in social enterprise development and strategic health and the social care sector.

Grant Carson

Grant is Director of Employment and Housing Services at Glasgow Centre for Inclusive Living (GCIL).  He was previously a Board member at Blackwood Housing Association and has developed a high level of strategic knowledge and awareness of the housing sector.  Grant is also a member of the Greater Glasgow and Clyde Health Board.

As a self-identified disabled person, Grant has written and published a number of disability rights based and independent living articles and has vast expertise in relation to these topics.

Grant is committed to continue to improve building standards raising the accessibility levels of new properties to increase the opportunities for disabled people to meet their housing needs.

Chris Baird

Chris, a disability activist from East Renfrewshire, joined Horizon's Board in September 2013. He is also a Board member of Glasgow Centre for Inclusive Living (GCIL).

Douglas Taylor

Douglas has been a Board member with Horizon since September 2014 and brings with him vast experience of disability rights.

Bob McDougall

Bob has worked in Social Housing for 40 years, with his experience covering Local Authorities (both urban and rural), New Towns, and Housing Associations. Bob has been a member of Horizon's Board since March 2015. 

Stuart Dow

Stuart is Director of Asset Management with Bield Housing and Care, becoming a board member with Horizon in March 2015.

Susie Fitton

Susie has been a Board member since October 2016. Susie represents Capability Scotland on numerous national campaign steering groups including the Accessible Ambitions Group.